Health and social service centres

The following organizations are responsible for providing public healthcare and social services within their respective provinces. All health services can be accessed within each province by dialing 811.


Alberta Health Services (AHS)

AHS is Canada’s first and largest province-wide, fully integrated health system, responsible for delivering health services to over four million people living in Alberta, as well as to some residents of Saskatchewan, British Columbia and the Northwest Territories.

British Columbia

Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)

PHSA has a unique role in BC's health authority system: ensuring that BC residents have access to a coordinated provincial network of high-quality, specialized healthcare services.


Regional Health Authorities (RHA)

Manitoba has five regional health authorities. They are responsible for improving the health system, supporting the region and supporting the health of Manitobans.

New Brunswick

Horizon Health Network

Focused on patient- and family-centred care, Horizon Health Network operates 12 hospitals and more than 100 medical facilities, clinics and offices, providing services ranging from acute care to community-based health services.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Health and Community Services

This is a continuum of community-based health services provided through a network of regional health authorities.

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Health Authority

Nova Scotia Health Authority provides health services to Nova Scotians and some specialized services to Atlantic Canadians. They operate hospitals, health centres and community-based programs across the province.


Local Health Integration Networks (LHINs)

ServiceOntario INFOline: 1-866-532-3161
LHINs are not-for-profit corporations responsible for planning, delivering and funding local healthcare to 14 different geographic areas of the province of Ontario.

Prince Edward Island

Health PEI

Health PEI is responsible for the delivery of publicly funded health services in Prince Edward Island. The organization operates hospitals, health centres, public long-term care nursing facilities, and community-based programs and services.


Integrated Health and Social Services Centres (CISSS) and Integrated University Health and Social Services Centres (CIUSSS)

Integrated health and social services centres (Centres intégrés de santé et de services sociaux  or CISSS) and integrated university health and social services centres (Centre intégré (universitaire) de santé et de services sociaux or CIUSSS) ensure accessibility, continuity and quality of services for people in their territory.


Saskatchewan Health Authority

The newly amalgamated Saskatchewan Health Authority provides most health services in the province, either directly or through healthcare organizations.

Northwest Territories

Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority (NTHSSA)

NTHSSA is responsible for the design and delivery of territorial health and social services planning across the Northwest Territories.


Nunavut Home and Community Care (HCC)

The HCC program helps Nunavummiut care for themselves with help from family and community members while keeping their sense of independence and wellbeing.


Yukon Health and Social Services

The mission of Yukon Health and Social Services is to promote, protect and enhance wellbeing through a continuum of quality, accessible and appropriate health and social services.